Byelections for Lok Sabha and Assemblies: Cong sweeps Himachal; BJP tightens grip in Assam, TMC in Bengal

A yr forward of state elections, the Congress dealt a blow to the ruling BJP in Himachal Pradesh, sweeping all three Assembly seats and the Lok Sabha constituency of Mandi in byelections that happened on October 30.

The BJP strengthened its management over Assam, profitable, together with NDA ally United People’s Party, Liberal, (UPPL) all 5 Assembly seats for which byelections had been held.

The BJP additionally received two of the three byelections to the Madhya Pradesh Assembly, and the Khandwa Lok Sabha seat.

In West Bengal, the Trinamool Congress continued its triumphant march, profitable all 4 Assembly byelections by big margins.

Two of those seats had been received by the BJP within the Assembly elections of April-May, however had been given up by the profitable candidates who had chosen to retain their seats in Lok Sabha.

Byelections had been held for 3 Lok Sabha and 29 Assembly seats in 14 states throughout the nation on October 30, counting for which was held on Tuesday.

A seat within the Nagaland Assembly was stuffed with out contest.

The BJP received seven of the 29 state Assembly seats for which elections had been held, and its allies, the UPPL in Assam and JD(U) in Bihar, received two seats every. The Congress, which fought alone, received eight of the 29 Assembly seats.

Of the remaining 10 seats, the TMC received 4, the NPP in Meghalaya two, and INLD (Haryana), YSRCP (Andhra Pradesh), MNF (Mizoram), and UDP (Meghalaya) a seat every.

In Lok Sabha, the BJP and Congress received a seat every from the three for which byelections had been held. The Shiv Sena received the third — Kalaben Delkar defeated the BJP’s Mahesh Gavit by a powerful margin of over 51,000 on the Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu seat bordering Gujarat.

In Rajasthan, the place byelections had been held for 2 Assembly seats, the BJP did not capitalise on the factional struggle within the state Congress.

In Vallabhnagar, the occasion may handle solely the fourth place, trailing the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party and an Independent; it got here in third at Dhariawad. The Congress received each seats.

In Madhya Pradesh, regardless of a vigorous marketing campaign led by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the BJP misplaced the Raigaon seat, the place the byelection was introduced on by the dying of the sitting BJP MLA.

However, the BJP received Jobat and Prithvipur, seats that went to the Congress within the 2018 elections. The BJP additionally retained the Khandwa Lok Sabha seat, which it had received in 2014 and 2019.

In Karnataka, the BJP received Sindgi, however misplaced the Hangal seat in Haveri, the home district of Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai.

The Congress retained the Deglur (SC) constituency in Maharashtra by a powerful margin of almost 42,000 votes.

In Haryana’s Ellenabad, Abhay Singh Chautala of the Indian National Lok Dal received. The Congress candidate got here in third behind the BJP’s — a trigger for concern given the Congress had supported the farmers’ agitation from day 1.

Also, the margin of Chautala’s victory was solely 6,739 votes, elevating some questions in regards to the depth and breadth of the anger in opposition to the BJP.

In Telangana’s Huzurabad, the BJP received a really important victory — former well being minister Eatala Rajender, who defected from the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi in June, defeating the candidate of his former occasion by a cushty margin of almost 24,000 votes.

In Badvel (SC) seat in Andhra Pradesh, the YSRCP received comfortably, defeating the BJP candidate.

In Bihar, the JD(U) retained each the Tarapur and Kusheshwar Asthan seats, defeating RJD candidates.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar tweeted that the “people have given their decision”; Leader of Opposition Tejashwi Yadav stated the RJD had improved its efficiency whereas preventing in opposition to a coalition of 5 ruling events.

Ten of the 29 Assembly seats had been with the Congress earlier than the October 30 byelections — two greater than the occasion’s tally on Tuesday.

Two Assam seats — Mariani and Thowra — had been with the Congress; it misplaced each. It additionally misplaced the Jobat and Prithvipur seats in Madhya Pradesh, despite the fact that it did win Raigaon. In Meghalaya, it misplaced each the Rajabala and Mawphlang seats.

However, Dhariawad in Rajasthan was a achieve for the occasion, as was Jubbal Kotkhai in Himachal. The Congress gained a seat in Karnataka as nicely.

Himachal Pradesh introduced the Congress cheer; apart from taking Jubbal Kotkhai from the BJP, it retained Arki — represented by the late former chief minister Virbhadra Singh — and Fatehpur. Virbhadra’s spouse Pratibha Singh received the Mandi Lok Sabha seat, home turf of Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur.

The BJP expressed disappointment with the ends in Himachal Pradesh. “It is a wake up call for the party and its workers. We have to go deep into it as the state is facing Assembly polls next year,” senior BJP chief P Muralidhar Rao stated.

Rao, nonetheless, claimed that the occasion is on the ascendant in Madhya Pradesh. “You will see it in the future also. We have corrected the gaps and fixed our problems. Both in governance and in the organisation, you will see BJP’s upward swing in Madhya Pradesh,” Rao, who’s in control of the BJP within the state, stated.

The BJP’s efficiency in Madhya Pradesh additionally brings credit score to Chouhan, who’s the final incumbent Chief Minister from the BJP’s earlier era of leaders. The new management’s handpicked Chief Ministers Thakur and Bommai couldn’t match expectations. The byelection ends in Madhya Pradesh have consolidated Chouhan’s place, and can presumably discourage makes an attempt at a change of guard within the state.

“The BJP and its allies have increased their tally in the state Assemblies. Our votes, spread, and seats have increased,” BJP Rajya Sabha MP and head of nationwide media cell Anil Baluni stated.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading. We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads! We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising. Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.