Despite BJP’s objections, Shashi Tharoor retained as head of Parliamentary panel on IT

Congress MP Shashi Tharoor was appointed as the pinnacle of the Parliamentary Committee on Information Technology, information company ANI reported, regardless of objections by the members of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The earlier committees’ tenure had ended on September 12. Tharoor’s chairmanship of the earlier standing committee had been repeatedly criticised by BJP MP Nishikant Dubey.

As reported by The Indian Express earlier, Dubey in July had moved a “privilege notice” within the Lok Sabha Speaker’s workplace in opposition to Tharoor for allegedly misusing his energy as the pinnacle of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Information and Technology.

The IT panel was anticipated to debate the Pegasus adware difficulty and had known as officers of the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY), Ministry of Home Affairs, and Department of Telecommunication on the topic ‘Citizens’ Data Security and Privacy’. However, the assembly couldn’t happen as 1zero BJP members current didn’t signal the attendance register, and therefore ensured lack of quorum.

However, Tharoor had instructed reporters that Dubey’s movement has no “validity” as no constituted process was adopted in introducing the movement that requires the Speaker to get the go away of the House earlier than it may be launched.

In a separate letter written to Speaker Om Birla, Dubey had alleged that Tharoor violated rules of the committee as “he has become a harbinger of all vicious activities”.

Yet once more in August, following the Congress chief’s discover to Facebook asking it to seem earlier than the IT panel, Dubey had moved a discover for breach of privilege in opposition to committee chairman.

“Tharoor has surpassed all limits of decency, ethics and basic tenets of Parliamentary procedure and practice vis-a-vis smooth functioning of Parliamentary Committee by way of committing a grave breach of privilege, not only in the capacity of an individual honourable Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha but also remaining in the exalted position of Chairperson of one of the most important departmentally related Standing Committees, viz, Information Technology,” Dubey had stated in his discover.

Meanwhile, BJP member Sushil Kumar Modi has been appointed the brand new chairman of the Parliamentary Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice. Congress MP Anand Sharma has been retained as head of the Parliamentary panel on Home Affairs and Jairam Ramesh of the panel on Science and Technology, Environment, Forests and Climate Change.

YSR Congress MP V Vijayasai Reddy will once more head the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Commerce. Similarly, TMC member Sudip Bandyopadhyay has been reappointed as the pinnacle of the panel on Food, Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution and BJD member Bhartruhari Mahtab of the panel on Labour.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading. We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads! We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising. Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.