EU advances clear power for islands


The European Commission mentioned on October 27 that 22 additional European islands have now printed a clear power transition agenda, with 7 others prone to observe within the near future. This has given a lift to the Clean power for EU islands initiative.
EU Energy Commissioner Kadri Simson mentioned carbon-neutral power programs developed on an island scale could also be replicated and scaled-up elsewhere. “This gives islands a unique potential to be trailblazers of the European Green Deal,” Simson instructed the Clean power for EU islands on-line discussion board.
“These transition agendas are a testament to the hard work and fruitful collaborations among islanders, both within their communities and across borders. It has been truly inspiring to see what is possible when local people have the power and support to write their own futures. We look forward to continuing the cooperation with the EU island communities to make the European Green Deal a reality, both through this initiative and through other EU actions to support a locally-driven energy transition,” Simson mentioned.
According to the Commission, the web discussion board offers a helpful showcase for islands throughout Europe to spotlight what native actions they’re already finishing up, or planning. Representatives from the EU establishments have additionally outlined some great benefits of an EU framework for facilitating cooperation and spreading finest apply. This week’s discussion board is the primary massive occasion with the EU Islands group after signature of the Memorandum of Split on June 14, 2020.
The following islands have now printed a clear power transition agenda: (Original six “pilot projects” introduced final 12 months) Aran Islands (Ireland), Cres-Losinj archipelago (Croatia), Culatra (Portugal), La Palma (Spain), Salina (Italy), and Sifnos (Greece);
(Confirmed in current months, together with this week) A Ilha de Arousa (Spain), Brač (Croatia), Cape Clear (Ireland), Halki (Greece), the Hvar Archipelago (Croatia), Ibiza (Spain), Île de Sein (France), Kasos (Greece), Korčula (Croatia), Kökar (Finland), Menorca (Spain), Molène and Ouessant, (France), Pantelleria (Italy), and Symi (Greece), and seven off-grid Scottish islands – Eigg, Muck, Rum, Canna, Fair Isle and Foula, and the peninsula of Knoydart
(Intending to finalise and publish their transition agendas within the near future) The Azores (Portugal), Belle-Île (France), Crete (Greece), Hoedic and Houat (France), Mallorca (Spain), and Marie-Galante (France).