Google stops storing pictures from WhatsApp and Instagram

68

Google Photos app on a phoneImage copyright Getty Images
Image caption Google Photos app on a cellphone

Google will now not mechanically again up photos and movies from social media platforms in its picture app.

Previously, the Google Photos app created a folder to retailer any media obtained by means of apps corresponding to WhatsApp, Facebook and Instagram.

Google mentioned the modifications had been to avoid wasting web assets as “people are sharing more photos and videos” throughout the Covid-19 pandemic.

The function used up bandwidth and took up reminiscence on units.

Earlier this yr, YouTube and Netflix made related strikes to scale back web visitors, as extra individuals had been utilizing broadband at home as a result of coronavirus lockdown.

An XDA developer advised information web site Android Police the next apps had been affected:

  • Facebook
  • Helo
  • Instagram
  • LINE
  • Messages
  • Messenger
  • Snapchat
  • Twitter
  • Viber
  • WhatsApp

Photos and movies which have already been backed up from messaging apps are usually not affected and you’ll flip the function again on in the event you want to use it.

How to again up particular pictures and movies:

  • Open the Google Photos app
  • Click on Library then “Photos on device,” faucet View all
  • Tap the folder with content material you wish to again up
  • Select the picture or video you wish to again up after which the choice “Back up now”

How to vary your back-up settings for gadget folders:

  • Open the Google Photos app
  • Click on Library then “Photos on device,” faucet View all
  • Tap the folder that you just wish to again up
  • At the highest, allow Backup and sync.

Several apps corresponding to WhatsApp have their very own in-app choice to disable auto-saving of media.

To disable WhatsApp pictures and video from saving to iPhone:

  • Open the WhatsApp app
  • Click on “Settings” then “Chats”
  • Disable the button that claims “Save to Camera Roll”.