Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021 Live Updates: BJP forward in Vadodara, Surat; Congress opens account in Bhavnagar

Gujarat votingAt the counting centre at L D Engineering school in Ahmedabad
(Express picture by Nirmal Harindran)

Gujarat Municipal Election Results 2021 Live Updates: Counting of votes for 575 seats in six municipal firms — Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar — of Gujarat started at 9 am underneath heavy safety and strict COVID-19 protocols. The BJP has made large beneficial properties in early leads.

The State Election Commission (SEC) has stated a median 46.08 per cent turnout was registered throughout voting which was held between 7 am and 6 pm on Sunday. Ahmedabad recorded the bottom turnout of 42.51 per cent, whereas Jamnagar noticed the best turnout of 53.38 per cent, adopted by 50.72 per cent in Rajkot, 49.46 per cent in Bhavnagar, 47.84 per cent in Vadodara and 47.14 per cent in Surat.

All these our bodies are at present ruled by the BJP. Apart from the BJP and Congress, for the primary time, Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has jumped into the fray. It is contesting in all six cities. While the BJP has an higher hand in elections to city native our bodies, this time, a number of senior and multiple-term corporators had been denied tickets, resulting in disquiet within the social gathering. With Assembly elections due subsequent 12 months, these elections will present an indicator of the voters’ temper.

Jagruti Dangar, sitting Congress corporator from Ward No.13 of Rajkot Municipal Corporation loses election as BJP sweeps all 4 seats in that ward

Congress wins all 4 seats in Ward No.1 of Jamanagar Municipal Corporation

BJP gained your complete panel of 4 seats in Khokhra ward in Ahmedabad. The social gathering had gained all 4 seats in 2015 too.

Congress opens its account in Bhavanagar Municipal Corporation by successful one seat in Ward No.1. Kantibhai Gohil has emerged because the winner

Voting in Vadodara is underway in three rounds: The first spherical will see Wards 1, 4, 7, 10, 13 and 16 being counted. In the second spherical Wards 2, 5, 8, 11, 14, 17 shall be counted and within the third spherical Ward 3, 6, 9, 12, 15 and 18.

Karsan Karmur, the outgoing deputy mayor of Jamnagar is main in opposition to his BJP rivals. Karmur is contesting as an AAP candidate after BJP denied him ticket to contest the election once more

Counting of votes underway in Rajkot

In Ward 16 of the VMC, BJP has gained two seats. In 2015, Congress had gained all 4 seats right here.

In surat, AAP candidates forward in Patidar dominated areas in Varachha whereas BJP main forward on 16 seats and congress on 2 seats.

BJP wins all 4 seats in Ward No.10 of Rajkot Municipal Corporation. Sitting Congress corporator Mansukh Kalariya defeated

Congress wins all 4 seats of Ward 1 — Ami Ravat, Pushpa Waghela and Jaha Desai — retain their seats in Vadodara. First-timer Harish Patel additionally secured a win. Patel is a detailed aide of GPCC Working President of Hardik Patel

BJP is main in ward 6 and seven of the Vadodara Municipal Corporation whereas Congress and BJP have two leads every of the 4 seats in Ward 13

BJP wins all 4 seats in Ward No.11 of Bhavanagar Municipal Corporation. In 2015 election, BJP and Congress had gained two seats every

Congress wins two seats in Ward 16 of the Vadodara. Ward 16 had a panel of 4 Congress corporators in 2015. Chandrakant Shrivastav and Alka Patel are the winners. Shrivastav, who was the chief of Opposition, is the oldest candidate contesting the VMC polls this 12 months

According to preliminary stories, BJP is main in all six civic our bodies.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, on Monday expressed confidence that the BJP will get unprecedented victory within the elections of the six municipal firms.

Quoting Rupani, an official assertion stated, “People have welcomed our politics of development and mantra of ‘Sabka Sath, Sabka Vikas’ and it will be proven in tomorrow’s results.” In the assertion, Rupani additionally stated that the decrease voter turnout reveals that Congress supporters didn’t come out to vote and that it was by no means in competitors.

Polling for 576 seats in 144 wards throughout six civic our bodies – Ahmedabad, Surat, Rajkot, Vadodara, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar – was held on Sunday (February 21). All these civic our bodies are being at present dominated by the BJP. “Designated staff would begin the counting of votes from 9 am on Tuesday at various counting centres in these six cities. People can watch live updates on our website,” stated MV Joshi, secretary, State Election Commission.

Gujarat Civic Polls 2021 LIVE Updates: Voting underway, 2,276 candidates in fray

A girl leaves a voting centre in Naranpura, Ahmedabad on Sunday. (Express picture by Nirmal Harindran)

Voting for normal elections to 6 municipal firms within the state – Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar – noticed a tardy tempo and low turnout on Sunday.

As per the official web site of the Gujarat State Election Commission (SEC), the six municipal firms reported a median 43% voting. State Election Commissioner Sanjay Prasad stated that polling has completed peacefully with none main untoward incident.

Ahmedabad noticed the bottom voters’ turnout at 39.54% whereas Jamnagar witnessed the best turnout of 52.49%. Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Vadodara and Surat, Jamnagar registers highest turnout, Ahmedabad lowest witnessed 47.27%, 46.67%, 45.48% and 45.09% voting respectively.