Gujarat: Two BJP candidates elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha

parliament old 1

The Election Commission on Monday formally declared that two BJP candidates, Rambhai Mokaria and Dinesh Prajapati (Anavadiya), have been elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Gujarat.

In the bypolls held to fill a emptiness brought on by the dying of sitting Congress MP Ahmed Patel, BJP candidate Dinesh Prajapati was declared “elected uncontested.” Similarly, in a separate by-election held to fill the emptiness because of the dying of sitting BJP MP Abhay Bhardwaj, the second social gathering candidate, Rambhai Mokaria, was declared “elected uncontested.”

Both BJP candidates have been elected unopposed after the Opposition Congress social gathering didn’t discipline candidates for the 2 polls. Congress sources had earlier mentioned that the social gathering had challenged the conduct of separate Rajya Sabha bypolls within the Supreme Court and the social gathering didn’t have the numbers to win if separate polls have been held for every of the 2 vacant seats.