HBL PSL 8: Teams finalise gamers in alternative draft

Cover 1674660191Brook

The six HBL Pakistan Super League franchises beefed up their squads within the alternative draft that came about over a convention name on Wednesday.

The six groups added gamers to their squads within the third and fourth supplementary decide rounds earlier than naming replacements for the gamers who had been partially or absolutely unavailable. Each facet may decide a most of 1 overseas cricketer within the two supplementary rounds.

Peshawar Zalmi, who had reserved their decide within the second supplementary spherical within the HBL PSL 8 Player Draft in December, picked quick bowler Khurram Shahzad.

In the primary decide of the third supplementary spherical, Peshawar Zalmi picked Haris Sohail, who just lately made a comeback to the Pakistan ODI facet.

Lahore Qalandars, who had the second decide, named Ahsan Bhatti, a left-arm spin all-rounder and product of their participant improvement programme. Islamabad United and Karachi Kings picked Tom Curran and Ben Cutting, who performed for Peshawar Zalmi final season, respectively. Quetta Gladiators and Multan Sultans, who had the fifth and sixth picks, included Qais Ahmed and Kieron Pollard, who has beforehand turned out for Karachi Kings.

The fourth supplementary spherical adopted the reverse order during which Multan Sultans took Ammad Butt, who was with Peshawar Zalmi within the final version. Quetta Gladiators picked Saud Shakeel. Karachi Kings and Islamabad United picked Musa Khan, who was beforehand in Islamabad United, and Zafar Gohar, whereas Lahore Qalandars and Peshawar Zalmi reserved their picks.

The six franchises additionally named replacements for the gamers who’re partially or absolutely unavailable.

In the Platinum class, Lahore Qalandars picked Sam Billings for Rashid Khan; Peshawar Zalmi changed Rovman Powell with Richard Gleeson; Islamabad United picked Gus Atkinson and Tymal Mills for Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Alex Hales. Multan Sultan changed David Miller with Izharulhaq Naveed. Quetta reserved their decide for Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga.

In the Diamond class, Islamabad United and Peshawar Zalmi reserved their picks for Fazalhaq Farooqi and Mujeeb ur Rehman; Quetta Gladiators picked Dwaine Pretorius and Will Jacks for Odean Smith and Jason Roy.

Multan Sultan reserved their replacements for Akeal Hosein and Tim David within the Gold class.

In the Silver class, Quetta Gladiators and Lahore Qalandars changed Naveen ul Haq with Nuwan Thushara and Harry Brook with Shane Dadswell.

In the supplementary picks, Lahore Qalandars’ Jordan Cox was changed with Kusal Mendis, Multan Sultans’ Adil Rashid with Wayne Parnell and Karachi Kings’ Tabraiz Shamsi with Faisal Akram. Islamabad United reserved their decide for Moeen Ali.

ALSO READ: BBL 12: Usman Qadir spins internet round Melbourne Stars

Rovman Powell, David Miller, Odean Smith, Akeal Hosein and Tabraiz Shamsi will doubtlessly be unavailable to their franchises from 8 March onwards resulting from bilateral restricted overs sequence between the West Indies and South Africa.

Adil Rashid, Moeen Ali and Jason Roy are doubtlessly unavailable due to the England versus Bangladesh restricted overs sequence to their franchises from 26 February until 14 March. Alex Hales will be a part of the HBL PSL Eight from 26 February onwards. Tim David will be a part of the event from 3 March. Jordan Cox shall be obtainable to Lahore Qalandars from 21 February as he’s on the England Lions tour of Sri Lanka. Wanindu Hasaranga will go away the event from 3 March.

Afghanistan cricketers might grow to be unavailable to their groups for transient length resulting from potential worldwide dedication.

Supplementary and replacements picks on Wednesday (25 January 2023):

Peshawar Zalmi – Supplementary: Khurram Shahzad and Haris Sohail. Replacement:  Richard Gleeson

Lahore Qalandars – Supplementary: Ahsan Bhatti. Replacement: Sam Billings, Shane Dadswell and Kusal Mendis

Islamabad United – Supplementary: Tom Curran and Zafar Gohar. Replacement: Gus Atkinson and Tymal Mills

Karachi Kings – Supplementary: Ben Cutting and Musa Khan. Replacement: Faisal Akram

Quetta Gladiators – Supplementary: Qais Ahmed and Saud Shakeel. Replacement: Dwaine Pretorius, Will Jacks and Nuwan Thushara

Multan Sultans – Supplementary: Kieron Pollard and Ammad Butt. Replacement: Wayne Parnell and Izharulhaq Naveed.

Teams strengthen rosters in #HBLPSL8 alternative draft.

Read extra: https://t.co/Si21yM9WIS#SabSitarayHumaray pic.twitter.com/i6trwKRF8o

— PakistanSuperLeague (@thePSLt20) January 25, 2023