24.1 C
Thursday, June 30, 2022

Latest Posts

Lok Sabha, Assembly bypolls Live Updates: A triangular contest between SP, BJP and BSP in Azamgarh

Bye-elections for 3 Lok Sabha seats and 7 Assembly seats are being held Thursday. The outcomes are scheduled to be introduced on June 26.

The Lok Sabha seats embrace Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh, which fell vacant after Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Azam Khan was elected to the state Assembly; Rampur, additionally in UP, which is vacant after SP chief Akhilesh Yadav was elected to the Assembly; and Sangrur in Punjab, the place polls had been necessitated after Bhagwant Mann resigned as MP to contest the Assembly elections earlier this yr from Dhuri. He received and was sworn in because the Chief Minister.

The Assembly seats going to polls are Atmakur in Andhra Pradesh; Rajinder Nagar in Delhi; Surma, Jubarajnagar, Town Bardowali, and Agartala in Tripura; and Mandar in Jharkhand.

The bypolls are being held every week after violent protests broke out throughout the nation towards the Centre’s new Agnipath scheme for army recruitments. This has emerged as a difficulty in all of the three Lok Sabha seats going to polls at the moment, making the bye-elections difficult for the BJP.

Best of Express Premium

The Rajinder Nagar bypoll in Delhi, in the meantime, which has been necessitated after AAP’s Raghav Chadha was nominated to the Rajya Sabha, has seen a high-voltage marketing campaign, with the social gathering heavyweights hitting the path forward of the elections. The BJP has fielded Rajesh Bhatia as its candidate, the AAP has given ticket to Durgesh Pathak, and Congress to Prem Lata.

In Tripura, the bye-elections are being held barely eight months forward of the overall Assembly elections subsequent yr, and is taken into account essential for Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha who changed Biplab Kumar Deb solely final month. The dentist-turned politician is himself a candidate and is preventing his first-ever direct election to save lots of his CM seat.

Andhra Pradesh’s ruling YSR Congress Party has a transparent edge within the bypoll for the Atmakur Assembly constituency. The social gathering is assured of a cakewalk as a result of the principle opposition social gathering—the Telugu Desam Party—is just not contesting, other than Congress. The YSR Congress Party’s most important rival is the BJP, which has hardly any presence within the constituency within the state’s Nellore district.

Voting Punjab At Kakkarwal village in Punjab, the place voting started at eight am. (Express Photo)

The BJP, Congress and an Independent candidate, Dev Kumar Dhan, are in competition for Jharkhand’s Mandar seat. The bypoll is being held after the disqualification of Bandhu Tirkey as an MLA within the wake of his conviction in a corruption case. The Congress, an ally of the ruling JMM-led authorities, hopes to retain the seat reserved for ST.


Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.