NA-133 Lahore by-polls: PML-N seems to be to retain seat for fourth time

PML-N candidate Shaista Pervaiz Malik. — Facebook
PML-N candidate Shaista Pervaiz Malik. — Facebook

LAHORE: As the counting of votes for Lahore’s NA-133 constituency by-polls continues throughout 254 polling stations,  PML-N seems to be rising because the winner. 

The win will allow the get together to retain the NA-133 seat for the fourth time. 

The polling started at 8am this morning and continued until 5pm with none interruptions. At 5pm sharp, the gates of the polling stations had been closed in order to stop extra folks from getting into. 

According to Geo News, amid the chilly climate in Lahore, the voter response to the by-poll remained quite ‘cool’.

Unofficial, preliminary outcomes obtained by Geo News for 205 polling stations present PML-N’s Shaista Pervaiz Malik within the lead with 37,139 votes.

PPP’s Aslam Gill is in second place with 23,684 votes.

The NA-133 seat fell vacant after the demise of PML-N MNA Pervaiz Malik who died of coronary heart problems on October 11.

According to the Punjab election fee, there are 254 polling stations within the constituency, together with 22 polling stations of A class, 198 of B class and 34 polling stations of C class.

Of these, 199 polling stations have been declared delicate. Around 200 separate polling stations have been arrange for women and men and 54 combined polling stations have additionally been arrange.

The complete variety of voters within the NA-133 constituency is 440,485, of which 233,585 are male voters and 206,927 feminine voters.

There had been 11 candidates contesting the polls, together with the previous seat holder’s widow, Shaista Pervaiz Malik, and PPP’s Aslam Gill.

The PPP actively campaigned for the NA-133 by-election in Lahore, which is taken into account a stronghold of the rival PML-N, within the hopes of reviving the get together in Punjab.

The PML-N has retained the seat thrice previously with Pervaiz Malik successful it in 2018 with 89,699 votes, Waheed Alam Khan in 2013 with over 100,000 votes and Naseer Bhutta in 2008 with a margin of over 32,000 votes.

After the Election Commission of Pakistan rejected the nomination papers of PTI candidate Jamshed Iqbal Cheema and his overlaying candidate, his spouse Mussarat Cheema, no PTI candidate is within the race.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading. We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads! We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising. Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.