Pak vs SA: Pakistan crew supervisor speaks to match referee over Fakhar Zaman run out: sources

77
815284 6752632 343471 6567772 updates updates
Pakistan’s Fakhar Zaman reacts after being run out South Africa’s Aiden Markram (not seen) as South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock appears on through the second ODI between South Africa and Pakistan at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on April 4, 2021. Photo: AFP 

JOHANNESBURG: The Pakistan crew administration has spoken to the match referee of the second ODI between Pakistan and South Africa over the run out controversy involving Fakhar Zaman and Proteas wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, officers aware about the matter instructed Geo News.

Sources say that crew supervisor Mansoor Rana spoke to match referee Andy Pycroft after the top of the ODI, in regards to the controversy.

Sources mentioned Pakistan didn’t launch a proper grievance however the match referee was notified in regards to the subject.

On Sunday, Fakhar smashed South African bowlers all-over the bottom and scored an almost match-winning knock of 193 in Johannesburg.

The opening batsman was run out whereas coming for a second run as he slowed down, apparently assuming that the ball was heading in the direction of the opposite finish, earlier than realising that ball was coming in the direction of the top he’s working at.

A TV replay confirmed that it was in all probability not only a misunderstanding and, the truth is, the South African wicket-keeper Quinton de Kock distracted Fakhar along with his actions (suggesting the ball goes in the direction of the opposite finish) and that presumably satisfied Fakhar that he was working in the direction of a secure finish.

Pakistani cricket followers and former cricketers have expressed their displeasure on the incident suggesting that the dismissal ought to have been struck off with 5 penalty runs and an additional supply awarded to the chasing facet underneath legislation 45.5.1 of the sport.

Clause 41.5.1 of the cricket legal guidelines states that “it is unfair for any fielder willfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”. In addition, clause 41.5.2 says that “It is for either one of the umpires to decide whether any distraction, deception or obstruction is willful or not.”

Source