Pak vs WI: Kieron Pollard dominated out of Pakistan tour resulting from damage

West Indies white-ball captain Kieron Pollard. Photo: file
West Indies white-ball captain Kieron Pollard. Photo: Geo.television/ file

West Indies white-ball captain Kieron Pollard was dominated out of the upcoming Pakistan tour as he has not totally recovered from his hamstring damage sustained within the just lately concluded ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

The Cricket West Indies has introduced the title of skilled Devon Thomas as Pollard’s alternative within the ODI squad and all-rounder Rovman Powell  within the T20I squad.

The injured cricketer will bear rehabilitation work underneath the supervision of CWI Chief Medical Officer Dr Israel Dowlat in Trinidad, and will probably be reassessed in a couple of weeks earlier than the home sequence in opposition to Ireland and England in January 2022.

With Pollard dominated out, Nicholas Pooran will lead the staff within the T20Is. He was stand-in captain when West Indies beat Australia 4-1 within the five-match CG Insurance T20I Series in St Lucia earlier this 12 months. Shai Hope will captain the staff within the ODIs for the primary time. Pooran is vice captain for the ODIs and Hope the vice captain for the T20Is.

The West Indies are resulting from play three T20Is and three ODIs on the Karachi National Stadium from December 13 to 22. The begin instances for the matches are: T20Is at 6pm native time (9am Eastern Caribbean/8am Jamaica) and the ODIs at 1pm native time (4am Eastern Caribbean/3am Jamaica).

The ODI sequence will probably be West Indies’ fourth sequence of 12 within the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, during which the highest seven groups can safe automated qualification for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India. West Indies are presently  on the eighth place out of 13 groups and have the chance to move above Pakistan into the seventh place.


One-Day Internationals

Shai Hope (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

T20 Internationals

Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice captain), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.


December 13 – 1st T20I, Karachi

December 14 – 2nd T20I, Karachi

December 16 – third T20I, Karachi

December 18 – 1st ODI, Karachi

December 20 – 2nd ODI, Karachi

December 22 – third ODI, Karachi


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading. We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads! We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising. Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.