Proteas in Pakistan for the primary time since 2007


KARACHI: In a significant growth in the direction of the revival of worldwide cricket in Pakistan, the South African cricket workforce arrived in Karachi on Saturday after a break of 14 years.It is the primary tour by a South African facet to Pakistan since 2007 when Proteas performed 5 ODIs and Tests within the nation.The workforce, led by Quinton de Kock, reached Karachi by way of a chartered flight and will probably be examined for COVID-19 upon arrival.The touring occasion has cleared two COVID-19 checks which happened on Tuesday and Thursday earlier than boarding flight to Karachi.The gamers will keep in particular person isolation till the outcomes of the primary spherical of testing are launched.Meanwhile, a Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) official confirmed that those that returned with the primary adverse checks could be allowed to renew coaching at a cricket floor adjoining to the workforce’s resort on Club Road.“The South African team will be training at the Karachi Gymkhana cricket ground from January 17-22 in a biosecure bubble before moving to National Stadium for a full-fledge training session,” stated the official.The guests will even play a two-day intra-squad warm-up match through the coaching interval on the Gymkhana floor.The South African squad, together with Pakistani cricketers, will bear one other spherical of COVID-19 testing earlier than the primary Test — scheduled to start out from January 26 on the National Stadium.Moreover, the Pakistan workforce will report in Karachi on January 19 and can begin coaching from January 21 at NSK after clearing the primary COVID-19 check.Cricket South Africa has made one change within the touring squad forward of departure to Pakistan. Seamer Ottniel Baartman was dominated out attributable to medical causes of a separate nature, whereas Marco Jansen changed him within the Test squad.South Africa’s 21-men Test squad:Quinton de Kock (c), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon and Marco Jansen.Furthermore, CSA will title its T20 squad later, whereas the 20-over match specialists are attributable to arrive in Pakistan on February 3.