Quinton de Kock may not face any costs following Fakhar Zaman’s run out

64
815315 9892362 fakhar5 updates
Pakistan´s Fakhar Zaman (L) performs a shot as South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock (R) appears on throughout the second one-day worldwide (ODI) cricket match between South Africa and Pakistan at Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg on April 4, 2021. — AFP/File

Following Pakistan batsman Fakhar Zaman’s controversial run out throughout the second ODI in Johannesburg, South African wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock is unlikely to face costs associated to dishonest the rules, in line with reviews.

After reviewing footage of the incident, match officers are believed to have come to the conclusion that de Kock was not in breach of the regulation on fielders deceiving batsmen.

In the final over of the match, with Pakistan nonetheless needing 30 to win, de Kock seemingly gestured to South African Aiden Markram to throw to the bowler’s finish, the place Haris Rauf was heading.

Fakhar, who had struck an impressive 193, regarded behind him, away from the path of the fielder, as he was working in the direction of the wicketkeeper and was shocked when Markram’s throw hit the stumps on the keeper’s finish.

Social media instantly went into overdrive with cries that de Kock had flouted the regulation on faux fielding which states that “it is unfair for any fielder willfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”.

Fakhar admitted after the match that he had been taken unexpectedly however didn’t try to deflect blame for the dismissal on to dishonest by the South African wicketkeeper.

“I was looking at Haris Rauf because I thought the run-out would be at his end. It was my own fault,” he mentioned on the post-match press convention.

Officials are understood to have deemed that de Kock’s actions weren’t a trick and that he was indicating for the throw to go to the bowler’s finish.

South African fielder Tabraiz Shamsi tweeted on Monday that de Kock was calling for a fielder to again up the throw on the non-striker’s finish.

“QDK was NOT speaking 2 or pointing at the batsman, he was asking a fielder to back up at the non strikers end,” tweeted Shamsi.

“Not Quinnys fault the batman turned around 2 see instead of completing the run safely which he should have done.”

Source