U.S. To Restrict Travel From 8 Countries In Africa Due To New COVID Variant

The White House introduced Friday that it’ll start proscribing travel from South Africa and 7 different nations on the African continent beginning Monday in mild of the newly recognized omicron variant of the coronavirus.

Senior administration officers say the restrictions come on the recommendation of President Joe Biden’s chief medical adviser and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The coverage is being carried out “out of an abundance of caution” over the variant circulating round South Africa, which the World Health Organization has recognized as a variant of concern.

Later, Biden issued a press release calling the step “a precautionary measure until we have more information.”

“As we move forward, we will continue to be guided by what the science and my medical team advises,” Biden vowed.

The different nations embrace Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi, which all share the southern journey of the continent with South Africa.

The travel restrictions is not going to apply to American residents and lawful everlasting residents, however everybody should nonetheless take a look at unfavorable for the virus previous to arrival within the U.S.

The U.S. is becoming a member of greater than a dozen different nations enacting comparable restrictions inside hours of South African scientists saying the variant, which is understood to have a lot of mutations. However, just about nothing is but identified in regards to the pressure’s risks, response to vaccines or transmissibility, so scientists are urging folks to stay calm.

South Africa’s well being minister, Joe Phaahla, spoke out towards the travel restrictions Friday.

“The reaction of some of the countries, in terms of imposing travel bans, and such measures, are completely against the norms and standards as guided by the World Health Organization,” he instructed reporters.

Only just a few dozen circumstances linked to the variant have been recognized in South Africa, Botswana, Belgium, Hong Kong and Israel to date.


Back to top button

Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading. We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads! We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising. Please add www.postofasia.com to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.